Ralph Lauren & BCBG Generation

by By G Nancy Lee

When I receive a job and need an outfit for the first week, I head to TJ MAXX and DSW for some BCBG Generation heels, Ralph Lauren trousers, and a basic sweater for a chic office look.  This outfit just makes me feel very confident in what I am wearing and it keeps me feeling energized because I feel and look great.

IMG_7276

I love over-sized items and finding the right pieces as well as styling them is a big part of how I would look in them.  I could look even bigger than I am or even like I got the wrong size on purpose.  But I think I pretty much hit a home run with this one because the color is beautiful and subtle.

IMG_7296

Snow is still around and love is definitely in the air.  It was Valentine’s day this past weekend and at work I wanted to wear something that is still conservative and appropriate; so I opt for this sweater and the classic black trousers.  Can you believe that this whole outfits (excluding the handbag) was under $40?  Talk about a bargain right?  As usual, the shoes was the most expensive at a price of $21.xx, the pants was about $12.xx and lastly the sweater was only $5.  All of the items that I purchased was pretty much great pieces that I can see myself reaching for constantly.

IMG_7294

I just started my job recently and so far it is a simple task and enjoyable.  I like how I started on the 1st of February so it will actually be easy to take note of.  The dress code is business casual and though it can be questioned, I can actually have a reason to “dress-up” as others would say, but to me it is not dressing up, it is who I have always been.  I enjoy dressing nice and having a nice clean appearance, do not get me wrong, i have my days where I am in sweats and a tank or even just a white t-shirt lounging around or cleaning the house.  How I dress is usually how I express myself and how I feel; I think it does tell a plethora about a person.

IMG_7280

The sizing of these items are true to size and the sweater is over-sized.  These trousers are a size 6 and 100% cotton.  It is will stretch a bit and does catch all the dust you can imagine, but with a travel size lint roller, it is nothing you can not handle.  The sweater is a size small and for it to be over-sized, I like the fit of it very much.  As for the shoes, I purchased a size 5.5 because a 6 would have been a tad too roomy.   I wish I could wear the shoes more often but with the snow, it will have to be Spring soon so I can bust these babies out more and not have to worry about my poor toes.

IMG_7305

